Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC)

The Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC) is a systematic classification and coding of geographic areas in the Philippines. Its units of classification are based on the four well-established levels of geographical-political subdivisions of the country such as the region, the province, the municipality/city and the barangay.

The PSGC was developed in 1976 by the Statistical Coordination Office (now the NSCB) of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) through its Inter-Agency Committee (IAC) on Geographic Classification by integrating the different geographic classification systems used by different government agencies.

The PSGC which was published in 1977 was recommended by Statistical Advisory Board (SAB Resolution No. 4-76) for adoption by all concerned government agencies to ensure a uniform and compatible system of compiling and processing of statistics requiring geographic disaggregation.